Sciath na Scol Football 2009 - St Patricks BNS

Go to content

Main menu:

Sciath na Scol Football 2009


2009 was a special year for St. Pa's as we were crowned champions of the Sciath na Scol Urban Football Division. The team was made up of a wide mix of talented and committed players from 4th, 5th and 6th classes. We trained in hardy conditions in the Tank Field after school on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Bainisteoir- Paddy O' Brien and helpers Damien Horgan, James Geaney, Cian O' Brien and Shane Foley ensured the boys were well prepped for every game.

We faced stiff competition in our qualifying group from Sc na Croise Naofa, Sundays Well, CBS Blarney St, Sc Padre Pio and St Marys on the Hill but managed to finish unbeaten. Leading up to the final we had cemented as a good unit  with the whole squad playing their part in getting us to Páirc Uí Caíomh.

It was a local derby final in Páirc Uí Caoimh against our neighbours St. John's from Mayfield. The game was played in front of a large crowd of supporters from both schools. Both teams showed skill and spirit throughout the match but on the day our players determination and the scoring ability of our forwards made the difference between the two teams. The final score was 3-9 to 2-4 in our favour.

It was a very special moment for all the St Patrick's family when Shane O' Brien(Captain) marched up the steps and lifted the Sciath na Scol trophy.
We are very proud of all the boys on the team who throughout the competition were a pleasure to deal with and always wore the St. Patrick's jersey with pride. Thank you also to parents and staff who support the boys on a continuous basis and the catering staff who ensured the boys celebrated in style in our new building.

'ó gach duine a dhícheall'

Coaching Staff: Paddy O' Brien, Damien Horgan, James Geaney, Cian O' Brien and Shane Foley.

Players- Eamonn Doyle, Shane Marshall, Ethan Keane, Adam Cotter, Shane Sweeney, Mark O' Callaghan, Shane O' Brien(Captain), Ciarn Horgan, Kieran Cusack(Vice-Captain), Colm Barrett, Ryan Delaney, Ryan Walsh, Thomas McCarthy, Jack McCarthy, Dylan Looney, Fergal O' Brien, Shane Keegan, Dijon Coffey, Killian Dineen, David Russell, Aaron Mealy, Daniel Gibson, Ryan Duggan, Enock Khanyile, Daniel Skillington, Eoin Kavanagh, Ronan Burke.

Back to content | Back to main menu